News & Blog

2018 Starting Your Business in Illinois Workshop Schedule

We are pleased to release the 2018 schedule for our Starting Your Business in Illinois Workshop, including the addition of evening classes:

SBDC Workshop: Starting Your Business in Illinois
Presented By: Don Elmore, Director of the Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC

Session Description:
Thinking about starting a business or expanding your own? This informative workshop helps entrepreneurs understand many of the steps and requirements of starting or growing a small business in Illinois. You’ll be taken step-by-step through a variety of topics and have the opportunity to ask questions.

Topics covered:

  • Introduction to the Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC
  • Feasibility
  • Business formation and registering your business
  • How to create or improve your business plan – an important part of starting or growing a small business
  • Startup costs, ongoing expenses, and forecasting
  • Financing and grant options, including programs in Champaign County

2018 Dates & Times:

  • Tuesday, January 16: 3-5 PM
  • Thursday, February 15: 9-11 AM
  • Tuesday, March 13: 9-11 AM
  • Thursday, March 15: 5:30-7:30 PM
  • Tuesday, April 17: 3-5 PM
  • Tuesday, May 1: 9-11 AM
  • Tuesday, May 1: 5:30-7:30 PM
  • Thursday, May 24: 3-5 PM
  • Thursday, June 21: 9-11 AM
  • Tuesday, July 17: 3-5 PM
  • Thursday, August 23: 9-11 AM
  • Tuesday, September 18: 3-5 PM
  • Tuesday, October 16: 5:30-7:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 18: 9-11 AM
  • Tuesday, November 13: 3-5 PM
  • Tuesday, December 11: 5:30-7:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 13: 9-11 AM

Registration:
Free to attend, registration required to secure a spot. Materials will be provided. RSVP to carly@champaigncountyedc.org or 217-378-8535.

Workshop Location:
Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC
1817 S. Neil Street, Suite 100
Champaign, IL 61820